DENR Warriors: The Rookie Champion in UNTV Cup

Posted on: March 11th, 2020
UNTV Cup Season 8 Champion: DENR Warriors together with their chosen beneficiary Environmental Heroes Foundation Incorporated receive the 8th UNTV Cup Champion’s trophy and the P4,000,000 cash donation as a prize for being the best team this season at the League of Public Servants after successfully winning over the AFP Cavaliers in Game 2 of UNTV Cup Finals held on March 10, 2020 at the Smart-Araneta Coliseum, Quezon City.

With clutch scoring and tough defense, the basketball team of Department of Environment and Natural Resources dethroned the AFP Cavaliers in Game 2 of UNTV Cup Season 8 Finals at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

The first and second quarter belong to DENR Warriors in both ends of the court.

Ralph Lansang, Paul Parreño and Melvin Bangal buried shots from beyond the arc which made 12 points of DENR’s 20 points in the first period.

In the 2nd quarter, Ed Rivera and Archie Gamboa stepped up to score the 15 of the Warriors’ 29 points.

The AFP Cavaliers managed to regroup and took the 3rd quarter producing 33 points compared to Warriors’ 24 points.

Boyet Bautista’s marksmanship scored 15 points in the 3rd quarter with 9 points coming from long range. It kept the Cavaliers in striking distance.

But in the final period, the Warriors’ Ed Rivera paced the Warriors’ tempo. Rivera racked up 12 points, 4 rebounds and 1 block in the final period.

DENR shot 52% from the field, grabbed 31 rebounds, dished  18 assists, 11 steals and blocked 8 shots.

Big man Ed Rivera was hailed as the Finals MVP after a solid performance with 24 points, 4 rebounds, and 1 block. He averaged 19.5 points, 4.5 rebounds and 3 assists per game in the Finals.

With the Warriors’ win, DENR’s chosen beneficiary Environmental Heroes Foundation Incorporated (EHFI) will receive P4,000,000 tax free as donation. EHFI helps the family of forest rangers who were slain in the course of protecting the environment. Environmental Heroes Foundation chairman former Chief Justice Reynato Puno was at the Big Dome to receive the donation and celebrate with the team.

While the Cavaliers will be able to handover P2-M for their chosen beneficiary the AFP EBSO or Educational Benefit System Office, an institution in the Armed Forces of the Philippines giving scholarship for the families of soldiers killed in action. AFP Deputy Chief of Staff for Personnel Major General Adriano S. Perez Jr. was also present to witness the gallant stand of his team.  

Meanwhile, here are the list of the awardees for team and individuals.

Marvin Mercado (NHA), Defensive Player
Marvin Mercado (NHA) , Regular Season MVP
Marvin Mercado,  (NHA), Member of UNTV Cup First Five
Darwin Cordero (AFP) , Step Up Player of the Year
Darwin Cordero  (AFP) , Member of UNTV Cup First Five
Jonathan Aldave  (PhilHealth), Scoring champion
Jonathan Aldave  (PhilHealth), Member of UNTV Cup First Five
Melvin Bangal  (DENR), Member of UNTV Cup First Five
Chester Tolomia  (Judiciary), Member of UNTV Cup First Five

This is the list of the teams’ beneficiaries

1. DENR Warriors – Environmental Heroes Foundation Incorporated (EHFI) – P4,000,000
2. AFP Cavaliers – AFP EBSO (AFP Educational Benefits System Office) – P2,000,000
3. NHA Builders – NHA Provident Fund Association Inc – P1,000,000
4. JUDICIARY MAGIS – Judiciary Employees Severely Affected by Typhoons and Calamities – P500,000
5. Agriculture Food Masters – Project PEARLS – P100,000
6. PITC Global Traders – Blas F. Ople Policy Center & Training Institute –  P100,000
7. Malacañang-PSC Kamao – The Philippine Children’s Medical Center and Millennium Sports Support System Association Inc  –  P100,000
8. PhilHealth Plus –  PhilHealth Provident Fund – P100,000
9. PNP Responders – PARDSS Foundation International Inc. – P100,000
10. Ombudsman GraftBusters – Ombudsman Provident Fund – P100,000
11. GSIS Furies – Kapisanan ng mga Manggagawa sa GSIS – P100,000
12. SSS Kabalikat – Guanella Center Servants for Charity – P100,000

For UNTV Cup 3×3 result:

CHAMPION: PITC Global Traders – P100,000 for charity
2nd Place: PhilHealth Plus – P50,000 for charity


DENR (99) –  Rivera 24, Lansang 22, Abanes 20, Gamboa 11, Parreño 6, Atablanco 5, Ayson 5, Bangal 4, Mamac 2

AFP (91) – Bautista 29, Almerol 17, Lumongsod 15, Cordero 11, Pascual 7, Tan 7, Sergio 3, Araneta 2

Quarter Scores: 20-13, 49-34, 73-67, 99-91


Other News

AFP Cavaliers: Bloody But Unbowed
Posted on: March 25th, 2020
Charity Wins at UNTV Cup Finals Season 8
Posted on: March 12th, 2020
AFP looks to extend UNTV Cup Finals
Posted on: March 9th, 2020